STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C5-84-2139

ORDER

AMENDME IT OF RULE V AND RULE 105 OF THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT AND OF THE STATE BOARD OF LAW EXAMINERS FOR AIMISSION TO THE BAR OF MINNESO'IA

WHIREAS, the State Board of Law Examiners is charged with the respons bility of administering Rules governing the admission of applicants to the Bar of Minnesota,

WHIREAS, the State Board of Law Examiners has recommended that the Rule V of the Rules of the Supreme Court and of the State Board of Law Examiners for Admission to the Bar be amended to facilitate the temporary admission of attorneys from other jurisdictions who have obtained employment in Minnesota with legal services programs,

WHIREAS, the State Board of Law Examiners has recommended that the Rules of the Supreme Court and of the State Board of Law Examine:s for Admission to the Bar be amended to charge a fee in connect on with temporary legal services attorneys' applications for admission to the Bar of Minnesota,

NOW THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Rule V and Rule 105 of the Rules of the Supreme Court and of the State Board of Law Examiners for Admission to the Bar, which are attached hereto and incorporated herein, are hereby amended, adopted, prescribed and promulgated by this Court.

BY THE COURT

DATED:

10-31-90

OFFICE CF APPELLATE CITURTS

OCT 31 1990

FII ED

Peter S. Popovich Chief Justice

Rule V. Temporary License for Legal Services Programs.

- A. Eligibility. An attorney licensed in another state, or the District of Columbia, may apply for and obtain a temporary license to practice law in Minnesota when the applicant has accepted employment in Minnesota as an attorney for a legal services program.
- B. Filing. In order to qualify for the license, the attorney must comply with the requirements of Board Rule II.A(1), (2) and (3) and must file with the Board of Law Examiners, the following:
 - (1 a completed application for temporary license to practice law in Minnesota for a legal services program;
 - (2 a certificate of the highest court of the state of licensure certifying that the attorney is in good standing and that no charges of professional misconduct are pending;
 - an affidavit from the applicant's employer attesting to his/her personal knowledge of the applicant's competence and good character, and the fact that the applicant has accepted employment as an attorney for a Minnesota legal services program;
 - (4 two additional affidavits of character as prescribed by Minnesota Board of Law Examiners Rule 100.A(2), and a fee consistent with Rule 105.
- C. Limitation. A license granted pursuant to this Rule shall authorize the attorney to practice solely on behalf of the indigent clients of the designated legal services program.
- D. Duration. This temporary license shall be valid for a period of no more than 15 months from the date of issuance and shall terminate upon the occurrence of any of the following:
 - (1) the holder's admission to practice law in Minnesota pursuant to Rule III, Rule IV.A or IV.B;
 - (2 termination of the holder's employment with the employer referred to in Rule V.B; or
 - (3) the lapse of 15 months from the date of issuance.
- E. Credit for Admission Without Examination. Time in the practice of law in the State of Minnesota under this temporary license may be counted toward the applicant's eligibility for admission without examination under Rule IV.A.

F. Revocation. If upon investigation, the Board of Law Examiners determines that the holder of a temporary license issued pursuant to this Rule does not or may not qualify for admission, the Board will make a recommendation to the Supreme Court that such license be revoked.

(Former Rule XIII renumbered and amended October 1, 1986.)

Rule 105. Fees

- A. General. All fees required under these Rules shall be paid in the form of certified check, money order or bank draft and payable to the Board. The fee applicable is determined as of the date of filing of a complete application under Rule 100.
- B. Fe: for Examination, Not Previously Admitted. An applicant taking the examination for the first time and making timely fi ing on or before October 15 for the February examination, or on or before March 15 for the July examination, shall submit a fee of \$300.

An application for the examination submitted after the timely fining date but on or before December 15 for the February examination, or on or before May 15 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$450.

C. Fe: for Examination, Prior Admission. An applicant licensed to practice in another jurisdiction more than six months preceding the date of the Minnesota examination and making a timely filing shall submit a fee of \$600.

An application for examination submitted after the timely fining date but on or before December 15 for the February examination, or on or before May 15 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$750.

An applicant licensed to practice in another jurisdiction less than six months preceding the date of the Minnesota examination shall comply with paragraph B.

- D. Repeat Examination. An applicant who has previously been unsuccessful on the examination and filing on or before December 15 for the February examination or on or before May 15 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$300 and comply with Rule 100.E and Rule 101.D(5).
- E. Fee: for Admission Without Examination. An applicant for admission without examination shall submit a fee of \$600. An applicant for admission pursuant to Rule VI shall submit a fee of \$800.
- Fee for Temporary License for Legal Services Program Practice.

 A see in the amount of \$50 must accompany an application for Temporary License pursuant to Rule V. Payment of an additional fee, as required by Rule 105.B, will qualify applicants under Rule III. Payment of an additional fee, as required by Rule 105.C, will qualify applicants under Rule IV A or IV.B.

- Application. Documents submitted in support of a Rule V application for license may, upon the written request of applicant, constitute application pursuant to Rule III or Rule IV of the Rules of the Board of Law Examiners, provided additional fees required by Rule 105 are submitted.
- H. Refund of Fees. An applicant may request a refund in the amount of \$50 in the following circumstances:
 - (1 An applicant who advises the Board in writing at least four days prior to an examination of the applicant's desire to withdraw the application.
 - (2 An applicant denied permission to take an examination under Rule 101.D(1) or 101.D(5).
- I. Ca:ry-over of Fees. The fee of an applicant declared incligible under Court Rule IV shall be applied to an examination held within the succeeding 15 months at the written request of the applicant received within 30 days of notice of the denial. No other transfers of fees shall be granted.
- J. Transfer of Examination Scores. A request for transfer of scores pursuant to Rule 102.B shall include a fee of \$10. A score report may be obtained by submitting payment of \$10 to the National Conference of Bar Examiners.
- K. Copies of Examination Answers. An unsuccessful applicant may request copies of the applicant's essay answers upon written request to the Board within 30 days of the release of the examination results and submission of a fee of \$15.
- L. Other Fees. For matters not covered in these Rules, the Dimector may set reasonable fees which reflect the costs of staff time, services, duplicating, postage, etc.

(Former Rules V and VIII renumbered and amended October 1, 1986; amended May 25, 1988; amended May 10, 1990; amended June 20, 1990.)